Keeping Cool at Disney Series: How to Dress for Success

 

How to keep cool at disney

How to keep cool at disney

 

I have a new series for you guys on a HOT topic this time of year (pun intended). With the summer months upon us, keeping cool at disney is very important. There are days that the parks can feel like the temperatures are unrelenting and upwards of 100 degrees fahrenheit. Despite this tremendous heat, there are some things you can do to keep cool and stay outside without getting over heated. Read on for some suggestions. We are discussing clothing in particular today.

First and foremost, you need to ‘dress for success’ in the parks. This is the basis of staying cool. All the other tips in the world won’t help if you don’t wear the correct clothing to keep your body temperature down.

I’m going to give you a rundown of what to wear by season.

Summer

clothing choices

Summer clothing

Above I have a picture of me visiting the parks in the middle of the spring to summer transition – April. I’m the girl on the far right. This outfit I am wearing in the picture is what I refer to as my ‘Disney standard issue uniform.’ This means that, 80% of the year, this is what I always wear to the parks. Typically, it’s always hot enough to wear shorts and sleeveless shirts during the day. I recommend an outfit similar to this because it is so hot for the majority of the year here in florida. I encourage people to wear comfortable, breathable clothes that are cool.

What exactly am I wearing?

  • Disney tank top
  • Target camisole
  • Soft, cotton shorts
  • tennis shoes
  • socks

Winter

ferrytale wishes cruise feb

Winter Clothing

Winter is the one time of the year in which you don’t have to worry AS much about keeping cool. The picture above was taken at night in February. I am wearing a short sleeved shirt, jeans, and a hoodie. During this trip, it was warm enough to wear shorts and a t shirt on most days while the sun was up. Nighttime is a different story. Most evenings, jeans and a short sleeved shirt were perfect. Oftentimes, a hoodie/sweatshirt is needed.

This is what I recommend in the winter:

  • Change clothes in the afternoon due to the great variation in temperatures
  • Shorts or jeans and a t-shirt during the day works well
  • Evening wear is jeans, t-shirt, and a LIGHT jacket. Let’s not get too crazy here.

Spring

One would think spring would require a different wardrobe than summer, but it really doesn’t. Spring here in florida is warm enough to require ‘summer’ wardrobe choices. In the spring, I may pack a light shirt or jacket in my bag, but that’s the only difference between spring and summer.

Fall

This is the BEST time to visit the parks. October is just about the best, temperature wise. It’s typically very tolerable and wardrobe choices during this time can range significantly based on the forecast. Here’s what I recommend:

  • Check the forecast before your trip
  • Pack based on a variation in temperatures – pack for a summer day and a winter day together.
  • Again, I recommend changing clothes if temperatures fluctuate (highly likely)
  • I recommend doing the following in the fall: t-shirt, jeans AND shorts, and a layer-able jacket.

When in doubt, always pack layers. You can’t go wrong with that!

 

Leave a comment